Babatunde Olatunji - Circle of Drums

Babatunde Olatunji - Circle of Drums
Item# SACD295

Product Description

Circle of Drums features three great drum artists, Babatunde Olatunji, Muruga Booker, and Sikiru Adepoju. Their drumming styles combine with vocal chants, ancient stringed instruments and synth drones to create a trance-like soundscape that brings to mind the experimental rock of the 1960's when eastern philosophies and cultures were informing western popular music.

Originally recorded in the 1990's but never commercially released, Circle of Drums is a lost treasure - rediscovered and remastered by Chesky Records using special surround sound processing in keeping with their commitment to high-resolution audio. Its release is an homage to the group's elder statesman, Babatunde Olatunji, who passed away on April 6, 2003.

Track Listings

  1. Stepping
  2. Incantations
  3. Dawn
  4. Embracement
  5. Ascension
  6. Cosmic Rhythm Vibrations